Harper Grey LLP is the leader in civil litigation defence for health practitioners in British Columbia and the Yukon.

We have been counsel on the leading cases addressing the standards of medical care, consent, medical malpractice, limitation defence, and liability for medical products.

Contacts

James Lepp, QC 604 895 2825
Guy P. Brown, QC 604 895 2804
William S. Clark, 604 895 2808

Related Services

Services

How We Can Help

Harper Grey LLP defends physicians, surgeons and health specialists in civil litigation matters.

We also represent clients in professional regulation matters, such as hearings before the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, the Medical Services Commission and hospital administration boards.

We are deeply committed to the medical and health professions. Our lawyers participate in medical/legal educational programs throughout the province and at the University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine. We were also instrumental in founding the Medical/Legal Society of BC and the Health Law subsection of the BC Branch of the Canadian Bar Association.

Services

  • Claims resulting from medical treatment and care.
  • Allegations of breach of fiduciary duty between doctor and patient.
  • Advice regarding legislative and regulatory changes that may affect medical practice, such as the Health Professions Act and the Health Care Costs Recovery Act .
  • Advice in response to threats from patients.
  • Advice regarding the release of medical records in family law cases.
  • Preparation when a physician is a defendant or witness in a criminal matter.
  • Coroners' Inquests or other types of inquiries.
  • Proceedings before professional administration bodies such as the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia and hospital administration boards.
  • Proceedings by the Medical Services Commission.

 

 

Name Direct Email
Aaron D. Atkinson, Associate 604 895 2819  aatkinson@harpergrey.com Andrew D. Brine, Associate 604 895 2806  abrine@harpergrey.com Guy P. Brown, QC, Partner 604 895 2804  gbrown@harpergrey.com William S. Clark, Partner 604 895 2808  wclark@harpergrey.com Karen F. Douglas, Partner 604 895 2813  kdouglas@harpergrey.com Cameron B. Elder, Associate 604 895 2815  celder@harpergrey.com Kimberley A. Fenwick, Associate 604 895 2820  kfenwick@harpergrey.com Djuna M. Field, Associate 604 895 2840  dfield@harpergrey.com Julie K. Gibson, Associate 604 895 2830  jgibson@harpergrey.com Mandeep K. Gill, Associate 604 895 2810  mgill@harpergrey.com Ryan D. Irving, Associate 604 895 2892  rirving@harpergrey.com Kimberly J. Jakeman, Partner 604 895 2817  kjakeman@harpergrey.com Lindsay R. Johnston, Associate 604 895 2865  ljohnston@harpergrey.com Cheryl L. Khanna, Partner 604 895 2842  ckhanna@harpergrey.com James M. Lepp, QC, Partner 604 895 2825  jlepp@harpergrey.com Scott J. Marcinkow, Associate 604 895 2846  smarcinkow@harpergrey.com Lee V. Mauro, Associate 604 895 2807  lmauro@harpergrey.com Jonathan D. Meadows, Partner 604 895 2809  jmeadows@harpergrey.com Joel A. Morris, Associate 604 895 2887  jmorris@harpergrey.com Barbara J. Norell, Partner 604 895 2832  bnorell@harpergrey.com David W. Pilley, Partner 604 895 2834  dpilley@harpergrey.com Daniel J. Reid, Associate 604 895 2877  dreid@harpergrey.com Terrence L. Robertson, QC, Partner 604 895 2835  trobertson@harpergrey.com Michael Robinson, Associate 604 895 2902  mrobinson@harpergrey.com Raj Samtani, Partner 604 895 2823  rsamtani@harpergrey.com W. Sean Taylor, Partner 604 895 2839  wstaylor@harpergrey.com Michael G. Thomas, Partner 604 895 2873  mthomas@harpergrey.com Abigail C.F. Turner, Partner 604 895 2855  aturner@harpergrey.com Emily M. Williamson, Associate 604 895 2886  ewilliamson@harpergrey.com Jennifer R. Woznesensky, Partner 604 895 2875  jwoznesensky@harpergrey.com Kim J. Yee, Associate 604 895 2845  kyee@harpergrey.com Lara C. Zee, Partner 604 895 2824  lzee@harpergrey.com

Paralegals

Eileen Fieldhouse, Paralegal 604 895 2864  efieldhouse@harpergrey.com Linda Mai, Paralegal 604 895 2874  lmai@harpergrey.com Jan D. Sherman, Nurse Paralegal 604 895 2867  jsherman@harpergrey.com Louise J. Siegmund, Nurse Paralegal 604 895 2884  lsiegmund@harpergrey.com

Innovation

Seminal Health Law Cases

  • A decision by the Supreme Court of Canada which determined the circumstances in which compliance with standard medical practice will defeat a claim of negligence.
  • A trail and appeal in an obstetrical negligence case which considered the correct test to apply in determining the liability of a defendant physician, involving principles related to non-pecuniary loss and the upper limits of recovery.
  • A Supreme Court of Canada matter which held that defendants are entitled to the benefits of services provided through the social safety net with an appropriate allowance for the contingency of such programs changing or ending.
  • A Supreme Court of Canada matter which considered the limits of doctor-patient confidentiality in circumstances of danger to the public.
  • A trial and appeal which considered the standard of review applicable to professional disciplinary bodies in a case involving a physician charged with infamous conduct following a sexual relationship with a patient.
  • A Supreme Court of Canada case which considered the application of the modified objective test to causation in the context of informed consent claims.
  • A trial and appeal dealing with a medical malpractice claim involving performance of an additional procedure not contemplated in advance of surgery.
  • A Supreme Court of Canada matter in a breast implant product liability action which considered a manufacturer’s duty to warn consumers and the application of the "learned intermediary" doctrine.
  • Determining for the first time in British Columbia whether a fetus can bring a negligence action against a physician and whether it can bring a claim for failure to obtain informed consent.

News

December 12, 2012
March 28, 2012


Events